That ‘Time of the Month’, or… The Mooncup

Time for a little bit of advertising.

No, not for some huge corporation, but for the Mooncup. (yes, blokes, you may want to look away now .. or you may want to read, and pass the recommendation onto your girlfriends/wives/other siginificant women).

I have to say, I bloody (pardon the pun) love this thing. I really do.

For those of you who’ve never heard of menstrual cups – a short excerpt from Wikipedia:

A menstrual cup is a type of cup or barrier worn inside the vagina during menstruation to collect menstrual fluid. Unlike more common methods, such as tampons and pads, the cup neither absorbs the flow nor catches it outside the body.

The most common [type of menstrual cup] is a bell-shaped cup made of rubber (latex) or silicone. It is reusable and designed to last for up to 10 years. Current brands include The Keeper, The DivaCup, Lunette and The Mooncup.

The one I use – the Mooncup – is made of silicone and produced, funnily enough, in Brighton. I didn’t start using it until after I moved from Brighton to Scunthorpe, but maybe the stickers and posters inside toilet doors all over Brighton had an effect on me :)

Now, up until a few months ago, I use tampons, and the occassional pad. I did use Tampax brand, until i found out about their slightly dodgy ethics and switched to Natracare products, which are biodegradeable and chemical-free (because really, who WANTS to put bleach-drenched tampons inside themselves for a week out of every month?). If you didn’t want to use a menstrual cup, these are certainly a good alternative; better for the environment and better for you. They look and feel exactly like ‘normal’ tampons/san pads, and aren’t much more expensive – they’re stocked in ‘healthfood’ type shops (even in Scunthorpe), so should be easily available in most towns.

Then, after lots of research and umming-and-ahhing I got myself a mooncup. I didn’t have any trouble ‘getting used to it’ – after cutting off the stem it’s incredibly comfortable, more so than tampons. It doesn’t ‘dry me out’ either, so no more sore bits. There’s no shedding of fibres, no annoying string, no more ‘wrong absorbency’ days, and no more rubbish!

All in all, it’s fantastic. I wear it throughout my period, cleaning it morning and night in soap and water, and during the day if I’m out and about it just gets wiped out with toilet paper. At the beginning and end of my period I soak it in a sterilising solution such as Milton (the baby stuff!). And that’s it! It may sound like a faff, but it’s really not, and I find it easier and less hassle than tampons, pads, and the associated ‘argh there’s no rubbish bin!’.

For another satisfied customer, click here.

Or go buy one from here – it’s £14.99, but will last YEARS, whereas that £15 might only get you 4-6 months of throwaway products.

What are you waiting for? :)

Leave a Reply

