General Stuff…

Unfortunatly a combination of crap weather and work have been taking over a bit lately, so I’ve not really been online a lot, or done a lot garden wise.

Work-wise, we’re rapidly losing staff – one moved onto another job a month or two ago, another has maternity leave starting, and another has also just announced they’re moving to a new job. Basically it all adds up to a massive staff shortage which is leaving us all a bit grumpy for the time being. I’m also applying for the asst manager job that’s going – I may get it, I may not.. I do have a pretty good knowledge of the company, but on the other hand I have no managerial experience. We’ll see.

As previously mentioned I’ve also got my driving test coming up – so that’s two big things to potentially fail at in a short period ;)

Garden wise, things are coming along merrily, although I’m suffering from the slug invasion:

Peas (both types) are now cropping. Not huge amounts, but then I never expected that. I’m growing them for the joy of eating raw rather than for piles on the dinnerplate.

Lettuce, Radish, Spinach are all doing well, although really suffering from slugs (and I think birds as well, I keep finding uprooted radish seedlings). I’ve eaten some of all of them – regular salads with the lettuce, occassional radishes (usually for my lunchbox at work), and a rather nice spinach and sweet potato curry.

The cordon (‘Gardener’s Delight’) toms and cucumber plant have been planted out into the bed, and are doing well.

The two tumbling varieties of toms are all growing away happily, still in pots in the greenhouse. Although I found the first flower or two this morning so they need to go out sharpish!

Beans – none of them are looking too happy. Think I might re-sow some, directly outside.

The peppers in the growbag in the greenhouse are getting attackedby slugs :( Need to do something about this, but not sure what.

Courgettes have gone out – 2 of the round variety and 1 normal. The round ones have been far more vigorous, so hopefully they’ll crop well. The two ‘de nice a rond’ have a load of flowers already! Although not the fruit-producing sex quite yet! I’ve also put a butternut squash plant out, so between them that’s four big pots in a line at the back of the greenhouse.

Various basil and herbs have been transplanted into the bed, just as space fillers really.

The chillis indoors are also looking quite healthy, if a bit spindly, but I found the first flower this morning :)

… I’ll have to get some pics taken :)

Leave a Reply

