Redundancy…

It appears that I have until September 30th to find a job.

Yesterday Jessops released their business review, aimed at bringing back the business from it’s current loss-making tendencies. Unfortunatly included in this is the closure of 81 stores, ours included. We’ll be turned into a clearance store, selling cameras at (hopefully highly) reduced prices until september, when we close.

Gutted isn’t really the word. This is one job that I’ve for the most part actually enjoyed. I work with fab people and my confidence has grown enormously. Now I have to find another job – ho hum.

To be honest the bits I’m currently most upset about (I’m not really one for panicking – I’ll find something else) are that

  • We found out via the bloody radio station, who we think was probably tipped off by someone ‘behind the scenes’ at the stock exchange/head office. I sent the boss (at the meeting to discuss all this) a text message – we actually found out before him. Not impressed.
  • People on the internet are unsensitive wankers. Obviously I’ve had a browse over the news, photo forums etc, and It’s just full of comments like ‘great, their staff are all dumb spotty kids anyway!’. They seem to miss the point that a)generally people with old-style (darkroom, film, etc) camera experience (usually the older generation) don’t want to work in retail, and b) from what I’ve seen the majority of Jessops employees are passionate about photography, and even if they don’t know the ins and outs of some obscure bit of kit they’ll always do their best to help. For what is most of the time minimum wage we work our asses off to be different from the ilk of Currys/Dixons. But hey, who gives a f*ck about the guys who’ve been made redundant, huh?

I’ve started job searching immediately, with the blessing of my boss who is of the ‘get out now’ way of thinking as well. As well as retail, which is all I’ve ever done, I’m also applying for a few jobs on the admin side of things, and one as a ‘mentor’ in a school, which is something I’d love to do. I’m not gonna kid myself, I don’t have any relevant qualifications or experience for these things, but nonetheless I’m going to give it a go.

On an unrelated note, Virgin Media are muppets. I rang them up as I’m currently on their 3 for £30 deal (tv, broadband, phone), with just the basic tv channels, whereas a friend on the same deal gets all the channels except the premium ones (sports/films). I rang their customer support line, who told me yes I could get the same but to ring the sales dept. The sales dept said yes as well, but to ring customer support. Customer support told me no, it couldn’t be done (and supposedly the manager said that as well), that that offer was a) for new customers only and b) not on anymore. Which is bollocks as it’s on the website at the moment. Finally I rang back sales who agreed to give me that package as I’d be passed around so much.

Apart from the last one, crap customer service, Virgin Media. Take responsibility for the customer yourself, and sort out their problem without lying.

Still, we should be getting loads more channels today :)

One Comment to “Redundancy…”

  1. Bah, That pretty much is teh suck :(` Both me and keth hope you find something soon again. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

