Well, I’ve finally decided to do something about my debt – I have about £1400 of credit card debit, a £300 overdraft that gets maxed every month, and £1600 of loan (though that is fixed repayments; the interest has already been added). Due to the fact I’m working a crappy paid job (£790 p/m after tax…. bank work does *not* pay well) I’m struggling a bit, especially as everything is just going up up up. And learning to drive isn’t helping at £19 a lesson ad £55 per test.

Anyway. I’m really trying to do something about it from now on.. ie not spend!

I did however make that resolution *after* deciding to finish my half-done X-Files dvd collection. I already had seasons 1-5, but the other day I managed to get Seasons 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9 on ebay for £41 including postage. I’ve resold 1, 4 and 5 for £8.99 each plus postage. By my calculations that means I’ve wound up paying £14.03, including postage, for 7, 8 and 9. Considering they sell for about £15+ postage each, that’s a pretty good deal :) Now I just have to get #6 and I’m done :) I think that’s pretty smart buying, if I do say so myself.

This evening, hyped up on coke (the sugary kind), I’ve been figuring out why the stitching is all loose on the sewing machine. It turns out the bobbin was threaded wrong due to a rather hideously illegible diagram. Now it’s sorted (plus point one = learning how to use the thing) I’ve mended the ripped seam of a pair of trousers (plus point two = fixing something that would otherwise be thrown). All in all a productive couple of hours :)

2 Comments to “”

  1. I’ve been working hard on my finances – feel free to email me
    I did find a pretty good solution- and got some good books from library!

  2. Unfortunatly I think I ‘know’ all the tips and tricks, given I work in a bank and am a MSE fan, unfortunatly I’m just honestly not very good with money!

Leave a Reply

