Cloth San Pad #1

Here’s my first ever attempt at a cloth sanitary pad. This one was intentionally a ‘tester’, made out of scrap cotton (though the fleece was bought new, but for how much you use it’s pennies per pad). As this one is a tester I didn’t include a waterproof layer – this should work nicely as a liner though.

I used the method shown here, with my own pattern (being overweight also means you generally need a longer pad).

All in all, it came out well;

pro points:

  • I did surprisingly well with the stitching, managing to get smooth , accurate curves almost all the time.
  • It’s very comfy indeed.
  • The press stud/popper works well, and is positioned about right.
  • It’s really easy to make.

negative points:

  • I messed up the line of the stitching a couple of times.
  • I didn’t get the tension right for sewing the back and pad together, meaning the stitching is loose on the back (not shown ;) )
  • The back needs a thicker material – I think flannel should work.
  • I didn’t quite get the back to pad sizing right.

All in all though, I’m very happy with my second real sewing project!

3 Comments to “Cloth San Pad #1”

  1. Well done you!!!!
    I don’t know how to sew – must learn someday!

    So good for the environment!

    I’ve missed your blog!

  2. I don’t know how either – I’m learning with the aid of the boyfriend-who-sews and a 4″ thick book :D

    I actually use a mooncup most of the time, which is probably better for the environment as that one tiny item lasts many years and doesn’t need machine washing – but one or two days per period I find pads more comfortable. I’ve been using biodegradeable pads but thought i’d give cloth ones a go!

    I’ll try and blog more ;) Though you should too!

  3. Yes, I’ve been away – work trips, newhouse, no computer, then no internet,then sick with pneumonia& in hospital!

    I keep meaning to switch to mooncup….! Yes, there are days only pads will do!

Leave a Reply

