I know I don’t normally do the private thoughts/emotional type of stuff on this blog but I just feel the need to put down that:

a) I’m horribly homesick at the moment. I don’t usually get homesick (for Brighton, I mean), but my nephew’s 3rd birthday was on friday and it’s been weighing on my mind. I really, really hate the fact that I’m not seeing him grow up.

and

b) I’m starting to really want children. We’re not in the financial position to do so, nor geographical (neither of us want to bring up kids in Scunthorpe). I am also ‘obese’ (I hate that word) and honestly think it would give me health issues to carry a child at the weight I am now. I know I have to somehow lose a few stone before I can consider trying for a baby*… but I’ve tried before and never manage more than a stone before putting it back on. Nonetheless, I keep catching myself thinking about tiny hands…

Yep. It’s all about kids at the moment. #

*Sigh*

* no, I haven’t really discussed this with my OH in an ‘I want kids now’ kind of way – but I know he does too at some point, it’s just the practical side of it that’s making it an ‘in a few years’ thing.

6 Comments to “”

  1. Have you read my blog lately? I’m at the same point!!

    Have you ever tried low GI? I’m amazed at how many people it has helped literally shed pound after pound. It is not a diet, it is simply good food that slowly releases insulin to keep you full. Email me if you want, I plan to start it seriously asap!

  2. I’ve been thinking about this post and thought I’d share what’s helped me think long term instead of “I want a baby” (although it is still a work in process…!)
    I’ve started a motherhood account. I read about a woman who did this when she was 25, knowing she wanted to adopt an orphan (and adoption costs £) and decided whether she had birth children or adopted that the reality is it costs money. She started putting in about £25 then more.
    I’ve started an account that I’m putting (starting in November) a monthly deposit into. I’ll start with what’s left after my direct debits each month, then will begin (once I have an emergency fund) putting monthly deposits in. Another friend of mine did this, got £5,000 in an emergency fund and then started buying everything else into premium bonds, which became the “saving for a family” fund. Once they had about £4,000 in there they started. That money paid for the necessities (admitedly breastfeeding and using cloth nappies cuts down what you need!) and to top up when she no longer had an income.
    I’m focusing on no debt, paying into pension, building an emergency fund and then motherhood fund. I’ve got number 1 accomplished, number 2 will be starting this month, then I’ll be plugging away at the emergency fund for the next year (may get a second weekend job to help) and then mummy fund. Seeing it makes me know I can do it!
    p.s. I see you read Soule Mama, me too!!!

  3. Thanks for your great comments :)

    Actually, I haven’t tried low GI, but it sounds interesting so I might look into getting some books from the library. I’ve been on and off weightwatchers for years… there ‘no count’ diet is very similiar I think (focussed on unprocessed, low fat foods) and that did work for me but I can never stick to it. I’m definitely a binge eater unfortunatly.

    Money wise… a ‘baby fund’ would be a complete no go at the moment. I earn close to minimum wage and any money I manage to keep back (£50 here and there) is directed towards my credit card. A baby fund is a long way in the future!

    It has to be said… I know kids are a burden on the finances but millions of kids get brought up on low incomes absolutely fine. My weight and our location are far more of a hurdle at the moment.

  4. Hi Sarah
    There is a good vegetarian low GI book, your library may have it.

    I agree completely re kids not needing a lot of ££. I often am amazed that friends of mine with 2 children spend more on their 2 then friends of mine who have 7 children (2 bio, 5 adopted). The latter family is by far “richer” in the real sense of the word, more family time, more nature/outdoor activities etc.
    I think getting credit card debt paid off first is a great idea.
    Maybe if the market continues to drop you will be able to afford to move back?
    BTW I agree fully with your comment on my blog, I used to work at a service that was free if you were on benefits, yet we had families with £8k less a year that were working famlies and they got no help. I used to try as much as I could to make a way they could pay reduced fees. It was heartbreaking. I think things should be based on income not whether you are on benefits.
    A friend of mine got a job in a finance office in a council (with no experience, as a trainee) and over the last 3 years has worked her way through courses that the council have sponsored and paid for. That might be an option?

  5. oh yes another friend of mine got a trainee/admin assistant job at a big private company. She got it when she was 23, started simply doing filing, photocopying, inputing data and making travel arrangements. Then she was promoted to administrator and they paid for some courses for her, then onto a PA role.

  6. Hi there, I just wanted to recommend a blog written by my friend (I’m not a spammer, but this is a really great blog I think you might find helpful!)

    http://www.dietgirl.org/dietgirl/

    I don’t normally do plugs, but I know how dispiriting it can be to find it hard to shift weight, and my friend’s writing is hugely inspirational, funny, and useful :)

Leave a Reply

