Hamsters!

I realised today I’ve never really done a proper picture post of the hamsters, and as it’s cleaning day today their homes were all spick and span so thought it a good time to do one!

robo080309

1robo080309

robo080309

The Roborovski’s (a breed of dwarf hamster – the smallest and fastest!). These two don’t like being photographed, nevermind together, so I’ll have to content myself with the one supercute photo I have of them. We *still* can’t tell them apart so they’re affectionately nicknamed ‘the guys’ (they’re actually both girls), ‘the weasels’ (don’t ask!) or ‘the robos’.

The picture below that is their new tank – last week they managed to chew a tiny hole into a hole the thickness of my thumb in their previous ‘cage’ – the first I knew of it was when one ran across the floor while I was eating breakfast! Thankfully I have a pet-friendly boss who understood when I arrived slightly late for work, looking harassed and explaining that I’d had to retrieve two 3″ long, slippery, FAST hamsters from behind the sofa! The new tank is an old fish tank (freecycled), topped with a homemade lid (wood: £2.50 and wire mesh: £2) – if they get out of that I’m out of ideas!

shai080309

shaicage080309

Shai Halud (wiki) – the name comes from his habit of ‘tunneling’ just under the surface of the wood shavings in his cage, hence ‘sandworm’.  Shai is a male chinese dwarf hamster, a bully to his brother (hence I had to seperate them), but pretty friendly with me – I’m taming him at the moment, and while he still won’t let me pick him up he’ll eat from my hands, let me stroke him, and, most importantly, doesn’t bite!

The chinese hamsters love to dig and tunnel (a lot more than the robo’s, who just love to RUN) so Shai’s cage is filled with inches of wood shavings and lots of buried tubes.

castro080309

castrocage080309

Castro, named after the communist (chinese hamsters… communists… geddit?) is the brother of Shai, but with different colourings (dark grey with a darker stripe, rather than white with a grey stripe). He’s rather shy thanks to his brother terrorising him for the first week he was here, but now they’re seperated he’s coming out of his shell. He’s definitely more active, and spends hours constructing his ‘base’ (hill of wood shavings with a little entrance tunnel to his ‘lair’ inside!), and methodically ‘pouching’ all his food and carrying it inside. He’s proving harder to tame, though, and nips at my fingers rather a lot!

There you go, all you ever wanted to know about my hamsters! (and probably more!)

3 Comments to “Hamsters!”

  1. They are simply adorable!!

  2. p.s. that photo you linked to is fabulous!

Leave a Reply

